

# **Ottawa Orthopaedics Quarterly**

From the Desk of the Chair

**July 2016** 

As we move on to the summer holidays, we have had quite an academic year. Our 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Gala and Alumni Specialty Update was a great success with over 100 alumni from across the globe joining us. Our gala event brought together both physician and nursing alumni as well as our community to celebrate 50 years of excellence in care and research in the National Capital region as well as to kick off our fundraising efforts for our Research Chair in Regenerative Orthopaedic Surgery.

Paul E. Beaulé, MD FRCSC Chair of Division of Orthopaedic Surgery University of Ottawa





Division of Orthopaedic Surgery 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Gala Canadian Museum of History May 13, 2016



#### Congratulations to our graduating class of 2016!

- Dr. Christopher Dowding MD, FRCSC
- Dr. Adrian Huang MD, FRCSC
- Dr. Andrew Tice MD, FRCSC
- Dr. Kristi Wood MD, FRCSC
- Dr. Vu (Brian) Le MD, FRCSC
- Dr. Heathcliff D'Sa MD, FRCSC



#### Our 2016 Fellows

- Dr. Emanuele Serra, Adult Reconstruction Fellowship
- Dr. Josepha Smolders, Adult Reconstruction Fellowship
- Dr. Matthew MacEwan, Upper Extremity Fellowship
- Dr. Christopher de Jesus, Comprehensive Knee Fellowship
- Dr. Bradley Meulenkamp, Foot and Ankle Fellowship
- Dr. Natasha Holder, Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship
- Dr. Amardeep Singh, Orthopaedic Pediatric Fellowship
- Dr. Hussain Alyousif, Adult Reconstruction Fellowship

#### **ABSENT**

Spine fellows: Drs. Abdulghader Alfasi, Mohamed Alshumrani, Saad Surur, Hui (James) Xu

Trauma fellow: Drs. David Saliken, Justin Todd

# **DIVISION NEWS**

#### **Recipient of Jacques Robichon Award**

Congratulations to Dr. Kathleen Gartke, Head of Patient Safety and Continuous Quality Improvement Committee.



# **New Appointment**

Welcome Johanne Samson as our new Executive Administrator.

#### Rattle Me Bones is Back!

This will be a major fundraiser for our Bone Health and Oncology Unit to be held on **October 30, 2016**.

#### **ALUMNI NEWS**

**Dr. Vinod Agarwala,** class of 1969, retired from active medical practice in May of 2016.



Dr. Agarwala is presenting the Division with one of his major art work.

**Dr. John Song**, class of 1998, practicing in Welland Ontario, has founded the interactive Website **Orthograndrounds** (www.orthograndrounds.com).

**Dr. Claude Henri Sagi**, class of 1999, has joined the trauma unit at Harborview Medical Center where another one of our alumni, **Dr. David Barei**, class of 1997, heads the fellowship program.

Dr. David Healey, class of 1999, has moved his practice to Australia.

**Dr. Marie-France Rancourt**, class of 2014, has joined the Montfort Hospital practicing joint replacement surgery.

**Dr. Kelly Hynes,** class of 2015, has accepted a Foot and Ankle position at the University of Chicago.

**Dr. Mark Pahuta,** class of 2015, has accepted an Academic Spine position at Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, MI.

# ALUMNI PLEASE SEND US NEWS ABOUT YOU!

# **ACADEMIC NEWS**

Promotions to Associate

Professor:

Dr. Joel Werier

Dr. Allan Liew

Recipient of Staff Teaching Award:

Dr. Braden Gammon

Recipient of Resident Teaching Award:

**Dr. Mitchel Armstrong** 

American British Canadian (ABC) Traveling Fellowship:

Dr. Wade Gofton

Research Office:

Big thanks to **JJ Ryu PhD** for all her services and wish her the best of luck.

Johanna Dobransky MSc will be taking on the role of Research Manager.

We would like to welcome to the research team:

Kirby Bucciero Kristina Vogel

# **CLINICAL NEWS**

Access to Patient Experience Dashboard

Integrated Spine Unit with the Division of Neurosurgery is now a reality with **Dr. Eugene Wai** as Head for the next five years.